“我的朋友和我随意停在这里,而在一roadtrip拼命干, 有不知道这将是我们整个行程的亮点之一. 博物馆也有类似的感觉,谢尔, 斯特布里奇, 等一流的生活历史博物馆. 但远不止一个巨大, 全面, 和创意征集, 博物馆格式是私有 (又便宜!) 导游. 诚然, 质量可能取决于你的导游, 但我们的导游是惊人的–见地, 戏剧, 不断定制自己的信息. 因此, 虽然我已经看到了同样的 “日常生活” 在许多类似的博物馆对象, 我从来没有过这么多的乐趣学习,并与他们互动. 我们也喜欢满足收藏家/导演–而这全馆显然是他的终身奉献的产品. 这不仅是值得的博物馆在停止, 这是值得各地规划你的行程. 真正不寻常, 信息, 娱乐, 而难忘的体验!”

十月 2015
__________

“As a history teacher, this museum shines above all others I’ve ever visited. In fact, it is my favorite that I’ve ever been to! No other museum goes to such lengths to re-create the detail and experience of an authentic old west town. This museum makes history REAL, with thousands of items from the period in every room, so much so that one could spend hours upon hours observing the artifacts in each meticulously created room and still not see everything there is to see: from hundreds of original medicine vials (still including the medicine itself!) of the apothecary, to original canned food goods in the general store, to even an authentic grade-book from the early 1900’s in the school! And it’s worth noting that all of this is done with a personal collection and thousands of volunteer hours. It is truly astonishing what this group of volunteers and collectors have accomplished. A real museum for a real history lover. It is nothing short of a national treasure.”

July 17, 2015

__________

“土坯平底鞋, 西部山区的博物馆, in Montrose, Colorado was the absolute BEST experience I’ve ever had while on vacation. This museum is phenomenal. We had the honor of being toured by the actual founder of the museum and are in awe of the fact that he has been collecting vintage items since he was a child and still has the same love and passion for preserving the past for all to experience and enjoy. My husband and I were in total awe as he took us from display to display. It literally felt like we were able to travel back in time. the authenticity of each display in the tour and actually of every single item was breathtaking. We will never forget it. It was the icing on the cake for us as we celebrated our anniversary in beautiful Colorado.”

Charles and Melissa Porter, Nambe Pueblo, May, 2015

__________

“有史以来最好的导游老西部展览! 最翔实和愉快 2 小时我花了一个博物馆. 如果你有兴趣在西方的历史必游. 作为一个英国旅游者本人已阅读了很多关于西部 , 但导游带来了多方面的生活. 其中最显着的地方的事实是,在装修完成, 作为我们的导游说 “两个半男人”! 卓越. Thank you for preserving and researching the history of the west.”

奥尔斯特, 英国, 到九月回顾 2014

__________

“最后之舞: 灵魂 & 保罗·ê. 参观了西芒的博物馆 2014. 在讲解员接通 违反炫技 (播放小提琴和钢琴) 在1880年的轿车. 随着音乐开始, 保罗问他的妻子阿尔玛跳舞. 他从轮椅上站起来,跟她跳了. 这是他们最后的舞蹈,因为他在短短几个月过去了. 母校参加一个圣诞晚会在博物馆举行,并分享这个故事与喜悦的泪水在她的眼睛,她想起了自己最后的舞蹈和美丽的婚姻多 40 years.”

__________

“<跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“233”bbox_w =“139”bbox_h =“78”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>多么美妙的体验,看在行动博物馆. 细心注意细节,体现了西部山区之间 1880 & 1930 <跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“395”bbox_w =“176”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>很明显,动辄. 我发现最近检索正在精心修复的历史建筑–一个老同学的家, <跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“503”bbox_w =“138”bbox_h =“51”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>的teacherage , 一个号衣 & 铁匠, 教堂–除了一个博物馆 “<跨度bbox_x =“1063”bbox_y =“611”bbox_w =“34”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>城市” 这让我觉得我已经走回时间. 我等不及要回去!”

–<跨度bbox_x =“1067”bbox_y =“719”bbox_w =“120”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>莎拉·阿姆斯特朗, <跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“746”bbox_w =“102”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>夏洛茨维尔, <跨度bbox_x =“1167”bbox_y =“746”bbox_w =“55”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>弗吉尼亚

__________

“最近我和妻子花了一趟科罗拉多州. 我们在蒙特罗斯停了下来,, 碰巧, 停在这个博物馆. 什么宝藏. 主人花了一生收集代表的老西文物数千. 该指南迈克彻底熟悉当地的活动和他的戏剧化使过去活跃起来. 一个非常愉快的两个小时。”

-迈克尔·K., 马纳萨斯, <跨度bbox_x =“1167”bbox_y =“746”bbox_w =“55”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>弗吉尼亚

__________

“<跨度bbox_x =“1063”bbox_y =“789”bbox_w =“154”bbox_h =“24”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>我们 27 通过Colorado.Went到西部山区博物馆的状态一天一天的行程,有一个美好的时光. 我们一直在最好的博物馆. <跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“978”bbox_w =“140”bbox_h =“51”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>交谊厅/酒吧病房梦幻般的. <跨度bbox_x =“1057”bbox_y =“1005”bbox_w =“192”bbox_h =“78”的fsize =“16”fweight =“4”红色=“75”绿色=“38”蓝色=“11”阿尔法=“ 255“>随着圈数增加了治疗乌尔指导理查德·FIKE病房, 博物馆的创办人兼董事. 他是伟大的, 非常亲切和有知识. 我们不能等到回去在未来几年看到他增加些什么. 希望可以看见你快乐和幸福。”

–里克和玛丽莲Ruthardt, 威尼斯FL

__________

值得停止. 老西的很好的例子. 旅游是由经验丰富的导游给. 零距离接触,无绳索或障碍近距离观察. 其理由即许多建筑. 教会轿车铁匠一般商店的学校多在除了主馆. 保存完好,干净. 未经雕琢的钻石真. 对你的方式,不要错过了黑峡谷.

〜Glenbetz, 韦兰, 密歇根, 九月 2014

“My husband and I were just driving by on the way to Colorado Springs. We decided to stop and so glad we did. We both love history and this museum is THE BEST we have ever seen! We were greeted by a cowboy fully dressed in the part. He offered us a 2 hour tour – we were pushed for time so he condensed it to an hour. We saw things that we have never seen in all our travels of the west. We are actually into reenacting ourselves and have done much research, but we learned much more today. Including how to play a proper Farro game, a popular card game of the old west! So take a couple of hours and enjoy yourself – you will NOT be disappointed. (Next time we plan on spending the whole DAY)

Visited July 2016

“我是从蒙特罗斯驾驶甘尼森,并通过这个博物馆,看起来有点意思, 特别是对于老西热心的跟我一样, 所以我决定停止,因为我有几个备用小时, 并探索它. 我很高兴我做到了. 这是我访问过的很长一段时间是最美丽的地方- 我出生在罗马的提出, 意大利和居住在英国多年, 走遍欧洲, 亚洲和美洲, 所以我可以说,我已经看到的地方.

我以为2小时就足以看到这一切. 他们不是, 远远不够. 我建议支出半天有, 一个轻松的下午,与家人, 朋友,甚至单独, 乘坐游览与梦幻般的指南之一 (帕姆是我和她是最好的指南不断) ,只是花时间去享受它,探索惊人的收藏,理查德已经把多年.

当我正在帕姆表示身边, 我变得越来越不堪重负, 震惊, 而在所有诚实, 感动. 有这么多的小手工艺品和古董和艺术品, 它真的感觉就像被带入时光倒流, 在一个小老西城区及其典型的轿车, 店, 马厩和教堂.

室内部分 (你不能从路上看) 是巨大的,并有几个房间,包括服饰店, 医生办公室, 一般商店, 一轿车/酒吧等等. There’s all sorts of old artifacts on display, 包括一些很有趣的旧乐器, 游戏, 枪和医疗器械, 更何况事情的令人难以置信的大量存放在几家商店, 从优雅的衣服厨具老, 美丽的娃娃. 它是所有保存在完美 (但年龄) 条件,它是所有正宗, 这是什么让我感动.

室外部分是巨大的,以及, 与教堂, 一所学校, 另一家商店, 火车站, 轿车和几个老小屋仅举几例. 不待说, 它真的感觉就像是在电影集. 但美丽的东西是, 你其实可以探索一下,看看这一切,并成为它的一部分, 并把你的时间来享受这一切. 到时候我看到室外的部分我完全被震惊和惊讶于所有的努力,他们必须把外面拍摄 (并不断地将) 为节省, 搜集, 恢复, 并提出所有这些建筑和物品对我们游客, 我很高兴他们.

我绝对推荐参观这个独特的, 精彩的和令人难以置信的博物馆, 而我甚至不会叫一个博物馆,因为它是这么多. 每个人都应该去看看吧, 有这么多的学习和欣赏. 我很, 很高兴我停止!

__________

“Unbelieveable! … 文物的数量这个博物馆有. 拖拉到现场实际旧楼, 一 “重新创建” 旧西部小镇, 完整的医生办公室, 牙医办公室, 一轿车, 一干货店, 一家杂货店. AND – 其中每一个 “店” 充满了那么多的实际老西部的文物这是令人难以置信. 只是令人惊讶! 值得参观。”
-丽莎R., 大章克申, CO。

__________

“当来访蒙特罗斯, 我的丈夫, 朋友和我参观这个博物馆,并是如此高兴我们做到. 该指南, 短发, 非常有见地,我学到了很多东西我还不知道. 有在每个房间更文物比我见过的任何其他博物馆和我们的导游做这一切来的生活. 我们实际上有 4 小时, 但我认为它可以做 2 小时, 我们要问这么多问题, 他很高兴传授他的信息. 实际的旧楼已被带到并重新创建成一个镇. 值这个价。”  -Tifson

__________

我们前往美国在今年八月和无意间看到你的博物馆. 访问这个美丽的博物馆是最引人注目的,今年的活动之一. 我们没有想到的是,曝光是如此之大, 知识性和趣味性. 我们的导游是迈克尔. 我们非常感谢他通过博物馆一个有趣的旅程. 感谢迈克尔为美国历史上的爱情. 迈克尔是真正的演员! 此外, 他的语言很清楚,甚至对我们这些谁拥有很少的英语.

非常感谢! 新年快乐! 新年快乐!

Kolevatov的家人, 俄罗斯, 莫斯科, 一月 3, 2015

“My friend and I randomly stopped here while driving through on a roadtrip, having no idea it would be one of the highlights of our entire trip. The museum has a similar feel to Shelburne, Sturbridge, and other top-notch living history museums. But far more than an enormous, comprehensive, and creative collection, the museum format is private (and cheap!) guided tours. Admittedly, quality probably depends on your tour guide, but our tour guide was amazing–knowledgable, theatrical, and constantly customizing his info. Consequently, while I’d seen the same “everyday life” objects at many similar museums, I’d never had so much fun learning about and interacting with them. We also loved meeting the collector/director–and this whole museum is clearly the product of his life-long devotion. Not only is this museum worth stopping at, it’s worth planning your trip around. Truly an unusual, informative, entertaining, and memorable experience!”

October 2015
__________

“As a history teacher, this museum shines above all others I’ve ever visited. In fact, it is my favorite that I’ve ever been to! No other museum goes to such lengths to re-create the detail and experience of an authentic old west town. This museum makes history REAL, with thousands of items from the period in every room, so much so that one could spend hours upon hours observing the artifacts in each meticulously created room and still not see everything there is to see: from hundreds of original medicine vials (still including the medicine itself!) of the apothecary, to original canned food goods in the general store, to even an authentic grade-book from the early 1900’s in the school! And it’s worth noting that all of this is done with a personal collection and thousands of volunteer hours. It is truly astonishing what this group of volunteers and collectors have accomplished. A real museum for a real history lover. It is nothing short of a national treasure.”

July 17, 2015

__________

“Adobe Flats, Museum of the Mountain West, in Montrose, Colorado was the absolute BEST experience I’ve ever had while on vacation. This museum is phenomenal. We had the honor of being toured by the actual founder of the museum and are in awe of the fact that he has been collecting vintage items since he was a child and still has the same love and passion for preserving the past for all to experience and enjoy. My husband and I were in total awe as he took us from display to display. It literally felt like we were able to travel back in time. the authenticity of each display in the tour and actually of every single item was breathtaking. We will never forget it. It was the icing on the cake for us as we celebrated our anniversary in beautiful Colorado.”

Charles and Melissa Porter, Nambe Pueblo, May, 2015

__________

“Best ever tour guide and exhibition of the old west! The most informative and enjoyable 2 hours I have spent in a Museum. A must visit if you are interested in the history of the West. As an English visitor I have read quite a bit about the west , but the guide brings many aspects to life. One of the most remarkable facts of the place is that the renovation is done, as our guide said “by two and a half men”! Remarkable. Thank you for preserving and researching the history of the west.”

Alcester, United Kingdom, Tripadvisor Review September 2014

__________

 “Last Dance: Alma & Paul E. visited the Museum of the Mountain West in 2014. The docent turned on the Violano Virtuoso (player violin and piano) in the 1880’s Saloon. As the music began, Paul asked his wife Alma to dance. He got up from his wheel chair and danced with her. It was their last dance as he passed in a few short months. Alma attended a Christmas Party held in the museum and shared this story with happy tears in her eyes as she remembered their last dance and beautiful marriage of more than 40 years.”

__________

“What a wonderful experience to see a museum in action. The careful attention to detail that reflected the mountain west between 1880 & 1930 was evident at every turn. I found recently retrieved historic buildings that were being carefully restored–an old school house, a teacherage, a livery & blacksmith, a church–in addition to a museum “town” that made me feel like I had walked back into time. I can’t wait to go back!”

–Sarah Armstrong, Charlottesville, Virginia

__________

“Recently my wife and I took a trip to Colorado. We stopped in Montrose and, by chance, stopped in at this museum. What a treasure. The owner has spent a lifetime collecting thousands of artifacts that represent the old west. The guide Mike was thoroughly knowledgeable about local events and his dramatizations made the past come alive. A very enjoyable two hours.”

-Michael K., Manassas, Virginia

__________

“Just returned from our 27 day trip through the state of Colorado.Went to the Museum of the Mountain West the other day and had a wonderful time. The best museum we’ve been in. The saloon/bar was fantastic. As an added treat our tour guide was Richard Fike, the founder and director of the museum. He was great, very gracious and knowledgeable. We can’t wait to go back in future years to see what else he has added. Hope this finds you happy and well.”

–Rick and Marilyn Ruthardt, Venice FL

__________

Well worth the stop. Excellent examples of the old west. The tour is given by experienced tour guides. Up close and no ropes or barriers for close up observation. Many buildings on the grounds ie. Church saloon blacksmith general store school and more in addition to the main museum. Well kept and clean. A true diamond in the rough. Don’t miss on your way to the Black canyon.

~Glenbetz, Wayland, Michigan, September 2014

“My husband and I were just driving by on the way to Colorado Springs. We decided to stop and so glad we did. We both love history and this museum is THE BEST we have ever seen! We were greeted by a cowboy fully dressed in the part. He offered us a 2 hour tour – we were pushed for time so he condensed it to an hour. We saw things that we have never seen in all our travels of the west. We are actually into reenacting ourselves and have done much research, but we learned much more today. Including how to play a proper Farro game, a popular card game of the old west! So take a couple of hours and enjoy yourself – you will NOT be disappointed. (Next time we plan on spending the whole DAY)

Visited July 2016

“I was driving from Montrose to Gunnison and passed this museum which looked interesting, especially for an old west enthusiastic like me, so I decided to stop as I had a few spare hours, and explore it. I am so glad I did. It is the most beautiful place I’ve visited in a long time- and I was born and raised in Rome, Italy and have lived in the United Kingdom for years, have travelled all over Europe, Asia and the Americas, so I can say I’ve seen places.

I thought two hours would be enough to see it all. They were not, not nearly enough. I would recommend spending half a day there, as a relaxing afternoon with the family, friends or even alone, take the tour with one of the fantastic guides (Pam was mine and she was the best guide ever) and just take the time to enjoy it and explore the amazing collection that Richard has put together over many years.

As I was being shown around by Pam, I became more and more overwhelmed, astounded, and in all honesty, moved. There are so many little artefacts and antique objects and pieces of art, that it really feels like being brought back in time, in a little old west town with its typical saloon, stores, stables and church.

The indoor section (which you can’t see from the road) is massive and has several rooms including a clothing shop, doctors’ offices, a general store, a saloon/bar and much more. There’s all sorts of old artifacts on display, including some very interesting old musical instruments, games, guns and medical equipment, not to mention the incredible amount of things kept in the few stores, from elegant clothes to kitchen utensils and old, beautiful dolls. It is all kept in perfect (yet aged) condition and it is all authentic, which is what moved me.

The outdoor section is huge as well, with a church, a school, another store, train station, saloon and several old cabins to mention a few. Needless to say, it really feels like being on a movie set. But the beautiful thing is, you can actually explore it and see it all and be part of it, and take your time to enjoy it all. By the time I was taken outside to see the outdoor part I was completely shocked and amazed at all the effort they must have put (and keep putting) into saving, collecting, restoring, and presenting all these buildings and objects for us visitors, and I am so glad they are.

I definitely recommend visiting this unique, wonderful and incredible museum, which I wouldn’t even call a museum because it is SO much more. Everyone should go see it, there is so much to learn and appreciate. I am so, so glad I stopped by!

__________

“Unbelieveable! … the amount of artifacts this museum has. Actual old buildings hauled to the site, a “re-created” old western town, complete with doctor’s offices, dentist’s offices, a saloon, a dry goods store, a grocery store. AND – each one of these “stores” is filled with so many actual old western artifacts it’s incredible. Just amazing! Worth the visit.”
-Lisa R., Grand Junction, CO

__________

“When visiting Montrose, my husband, friend and I visiting this museum and were so glad we did. The guide, Bob, was extremely knowledgable and I learned a lot I didn’t already know. There was more artifacts in each room than I had ever seen in any other museum and our guide made it all come to life. We were actually there 4 hours, but I think it can be done in 2 hours, we would ask so many questions, which he was happy to impart his information. Actual old buildings had been brought in and recreated into a town. Worth the price.”  -Tifson

__________

We traveled to America in August this year and accidentally saw your museum. Visiting this beautiful museum was one of the most remarkable events of this year. We didn’t expect that the exposure is so great, informative and interesting. Our guide was Michael. We are very grateful to him for an interesting journey through the museum. Thanks Michael for the love of American history. Michael is real actor! In addition, his language was clear even to those of us who have very little English.

Thank You very much! Happy New Year! С Новым годом!

Kolevatov’s family, Russia, Moscow, January 3, 2015